Governing Body

A Message from Bernie Borland CBE, Chair of St Paul’s Academy

My connection with St Paul’s goes back a long way. In 1983 I was appointed Deputy Head and from 1986 to 1994 I was proud to be the school’s Headteacher. I went on to become Principal of St Francis Xavier Sixth form College until I retired in 2009. Since then I have also taught part-time on an MA at St Mary’s University and worked as interim senior manager in a number of sixth form colleges. I was invited onto St Paul’s governing body in 2010 and since 2011 I have been its Chair.

St Paul’s was established on its Wickham Lane site in 1968 and since then the school has undergone considerable change, especially since its transformation into an Academy and its subsequent move to Abbey Wood as a purpose-built school for 1200 students on its current site. However, throughout all that time it has never ceased to be a school that above all cares for the spiritual, social and educational well-being of all its students.

As governors it is our responsibility to determine the character and strategic direction of St Paul’s. We do this as a full board supported by committees that oversee key aspects of the Academy, such as curriculum, finance and management of students, that are all delivered by our Principal and her Staff.

It is our wish as governors that whether you are a prospective or current student/parent, or a member of our local community, that you support us in continuing to be an inspiration and witness to an outstanding education for our young people.

Bernie Borland CBE has been appointed again Chair of Governors for 2023-2024

Name Category Appointed Business Interest Committee Membership
Bernie Borland Chair Foundation  None  SI/MoS/AFR
Sarah Griffin Vice Chair Foundation  None  SI/MoS/AFR
Mel Fontinelle Foundation Governor Foundation  None  SI/MoS
Sheila Ward Principal None  SI/MoS/AFR
Fr Richard Offong Foundation Governor Foundation  None  SI/MoS
Josephine Erokwu Foundation Governor Foundation  None
Ananda Fernando Staff Governor Staff  None SI/MoS
Karen Saunders Community Governor  Governing body Grandparent of student MoS/SI
Denise Hyland Community Governor  Governing body  None  AFR
Claire Hallinan Community Governor  Governing body  None MoS/SI
Giselle Allette Parent Governor Parent Parent
Valerie Churchill Governance Professional

Siobhan Malone retired in December 2022
Sheila Ward was appointed as the Principal in January 2023
SI – School Improvement
MoS – Management of Students
AFR – Audit, Finance and Resources